

County of Santa Barbara Citizens Independent Redistricting Commission Commissioner Cheryl Trosky, First District Commissioner Karen Twibell, First District Commissioner William McClintock, Second District Commissioner Megan Turley, Second District, Vice Chair Commissioner Norman "Doug" Bradley, Third District Commissioner Kevin Kaseff, Third District Commissioner James Bray, Fourth District Commissioner Amanda Ochoa, Fourth District Commissioner Glenn Morris, Fifth District, Chair (Vacant), Fifth District Commissioner Kathryn Adams, Member-At-Large

# COUNTY OF SANTA BARBARA CITIZENS INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSION SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

Date: July 9, 2021, 3 p.m. Place: Goleta Union School District Board Room, 401 North Fairview Avenue, Goleta CA

Recordings of the Commission Meetings, Agendas, Supplemental Materials and Minutes of the Citizens Independent Redistricting Commission are available on the internet at: <u>www.DrawSantaBarbaraCounty.org</u>

## Call to Order – Roll Call

Commission Convened at 3 p.m.

Commissioners Present: Bray, McClintock, Morris, Trosky, Turley, Twibell

Commissioners Absent: Adams, Bradley, Kaseff, Ochoa

### **Public Hearing**

1. Public Hearing to receive an overview of the redistricting process and public input on communities of interest and the composition of districts.

Presentation received.

Public Comment:

**Communities of Interest** 

- Santa Ynez Valley (Buellton, Solvang, Los Alamos)
- Isla Vista/UCSB (Student and private housing)

### **General Public Comments**

The General Public Comment period is reserved for comments on items not on this Agenda and for matters within the subject matter jurisdiction of the Citizens Independent Redistricting Commission. The Commission may adopt reasonable regulations, including time limits, on public comments. The Commission may not discuss or take action on any matter raised during the public comment section, except to decide whether to place a matter on the agenda of a future meeting.

c/o County Executive Office: 105 E. Anapamu Street, Suite 406 Santa Barbara, CA 93101

• Email: redistricting@countyofsb.org

Facebook: <a href="https://www.facebook.com/sbcredistrictingcommission">https://www.instagram.com/sbcredistricting/</a>
Instagram: <a href="https://www.instagram.com/sbcredistrictingcommission">https://www.instagram.com/sbcredistrictingcommission</a>

County of Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County Independent Redistricting Commission Summary of Proceedings for July 9, 2021 Page | 2

None.

### **Reports from Legal Counsel and Demographer**

None.

### **Commissioner Comments**

None.

#### Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 5:20 p.m. The next meeting is scheduled on Monday, July 12, 2021, 6:15 p.m., at the Lompoc City Council Chambers, 100 Civic Center Plaza, Lompoc. The meeting will <u>not</u> be available via Zoom, but will be recorded and available for public access at <u>www.DrawSantaBarbaraCounty.org</u>.

c/o County Executive Office: 105 E. Anapamu Street, Suite 406 Santa Barbara, CA 93101

• Facebook: <a href="https://www.facebook.com/sbcredistrictingcommission">https://www.facebook.com/sbcredistrictingcommission</a>