

County of Santa Barbara Citizens Independent Redistricting Commission Commissioner Cheryl Trosky, First District Commissioner Karen Twibell, First District Commissioner William McClintock, Second District Commissioner Megan Turley, Second District, Vice Chair Commissioner Norman "Doug" Bradley, Third District Commissioner Kevin Kaseff, Third District Commissioner James Bray, Fourth District Commissioner Amanda Ochoa, Fourth District Commissioner Glenn Morris, Fifth District, Chair (Vacant), Fifth District Commissioner Kathryn Adams, Member-At-Large

# COUNTY OF SANTA BARBARA CITIZENS INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSION SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

Date: July 12, 2021, 6:15 p.m. Place: Lompoc City Council Chambers, 100 Civic Center Plaza, Lompoc, CA

# Call to Order – Roll Call

Commission Convened at 6:15 p.m.

Commissioners Present: Adams, Bray, Kaseff, Morris, Ochoa, Trosky, Twibell

Commissioners Absent: Bradley, McClintock, Turley

## **Public Hearing**

1. Public Hearing to receive an overview of the redistricting process and public input on communities of interest and the composition of districts.

Presentation received.

Public comments on the composition of districts:

- Lompoc and north Census Designated Places (CDPs) shop together and should be in same district.
- Mesa Oaks a wealthy neighborhood that is part of Mission Hills
- Current districts in Santa Barbara do not make sense; should follow major roads.
- Cultural differences between Mid & South County (boots vs. sandals).
- Problematic relationship between Lompoc and Orcutt.
- Mission Canyon is very focused on fire prevention.

Upcoming Meetings:

- August 4, 2021, 6 8 p.m., Betteravia Hearing Room, 511 E. Lakeside Parkway, Santa Maria, CA
- August 12, 2021, Noon 2 p.m., Solvang City Council Chambers, 1644 Oak St., Solvang, CA

### **General Public Comments**

The General Public Comment period is reserved for comments on items not on this Agenda and for matters within the subject matter jurisdiction of the Citizens Independent Redistricting Commission. The Commission may adopt reasonable regulations, including time limits, on public comments. The Commission may not

c/o County Executive Office: 105 E. Anapamu Street, Suite 406 Santa Barbara, CA 93101

• Email: redistricting@countyofsb.org

• Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sbcredistrictingcommission

County of Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County Independent Redistricting Commission Summary of Proceedings for July 12, 2021 Page | 2

discuss or take action on any matter raised during the public comment section, except to decide whether to place a matter on the agenda of a future meeting.

#### **General Public Comments**

None.

## **Reports from Legal Counsel and Demographer**

None.

#### **Commissioner Comments**

None.

## Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 8:15 p.m. The next meeting is scheduled on Wednesday, August 4, 2021, 6 p.m., at the Betteravia Hearing Room, 511 East Lakeside Parkway, Santa Maria.

c/o County Executive Office: 105 E. Anapamu Street, Suite 406 Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Facebook: <u>https://www.facebook.com/sbcredistrictingcommission</u>
Instagram: <u>http://www.facebook.com/sbcredistrictingcommission</u>